Head to Head Comparisons; VitaBeard VS Store Brand Vitamins

In may continuing effort to get more bang for my bearded buck, I’m still investigating VitaBeard. Assuming VitaBeard has all the essential vitamins and minerals for hair/beard health; let’s compare it with a store brand vitamin with the same vitamins and minerals. The store brand being a multi-vitamin obviously has many other vitamins and minerals in it, where the VitaBeard has only what’s listed below. All percentages are RDA/DV as recommended by the US Govt. Both products contain secondary minerals and such that do NOT have recommended daily allowances so they were omitted from this list. The suggested # of capsules to take always gets me; one says 3 capsules daily, one says 1 capsule daily with a meal. hhmmm

I’m also thoroughly convinced that Biotin does nothing for hair growth; there’s no scientific proof it does and I’m on board too. After many months of taking Biotin, all I’ve noticed is an increased rate of growth with my nails; fingers and toes.

avitabeardVSPublix-Z

VitaBeard’s ingredients                           VitaBeard               Publix Multi-Vitamin

Vitamin A – Beta Carotene                          50%                        200%

Vitamin C – Ascorbic Acid                          50%                        167%

Vitamin E – d-alpha t s                               50%                        333%

Vitamin B-1 – Thiamine                              333%                      1667%

Vitamin B-2 – Riboflavin                            176%                       1471%

Vitamin B-3 – Niacin                                  25%                         150%

Vitamin B-6 – Pyridoxine                           250%                       1250%

Vitamin B-7 – D-Biotin                               250%                       50%

Vitamin B-9 – Folic Acid                            25%                         100%

Vitamin B-12 – Cyanocobalamin               208%                       833%

Vitamin B-5 – Calcium D-Pantothenate    250%                     250%

Iodine (Kelp)                                                33%                         17%

Zinc                                                                 33%                         100%

Copper                                                            13%                         100%

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in As I see it..., Life with Beards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Head to Head Comparisons; VitaBeard VS Store Brand Vitamins

  1. Sean Hoade says:

    Gary, I’m a new beardie and follower of your blog. Am I correct in gleaning from this entry that you think a good ol’ daily vitamin is as good or better for beard growth than is the VitaBeard? (This question may sound really stupid, but sometimes I come away from things with the opposite of the intended message! I blame the children for frying my brain.)

  2. I would say ‘yes’ to that Sean. As I’ve said before, take care of your body and you will take care of your beard. I try to eat right and I take a good multi-vitamin and I feel it does the same if not more then Vita-Beard. Besides the fact that Vita-Beard is costly. Vita-Beard is high in Biotin,which as best I know, there is NO proof it helps hair growth; almost an urban myth type thing. …and for the cost, you could take a good multi-vitamin that costs a lot less and take biotin too. You can’t really overdose on it as our bodies produce biotin. (and it’s produced in ample supply) Now I’m taking a mult-vitamin from GNC which was a bit more then the Publix brand, but is also formulated to help keep the prostate healthy and I’m over 50 now, so I feel it can’t hurt. 🙂

    • Sean Hoade says:

      Very good! I’m enjoying reading about your exploits, so thanks for being a lab rat for the good of bearded humanity. 🙂

      • LOL i do try my best Sean! hahahaha Oh the products I use, the foods I eat, and the vitamins I take all for the sake of my health and my beards health! and you are most welcome too :-{)}}}}}

    • luis says:

      Gary, whats the name of the vitamins you take for your beard from gnc….i can’t seem to find any publix in CA.?

      • Ahh well I take a good multivitamin for men over 50 and it’s not ‘beard specific’. …and Publix is a southern US chain. Take care of yourself and you’ll take care if your Beard!

Leave a Reply

