4th Annual Beard Team USA Nationals New Orleans 2013

Over the past 4 1/2 years I’ve run this site (BeardedGents.com), I’ve wanted to go to many comps and have been unable to do so, mainly for financial reasons. I did attend the Battle of the Beards competition in Orlando, Florida June 17th, 2012. That was fun and I was able to meet a few members from the site, but I didn’t or wasn’t really able to promote this site. I was told once on stage I could promote it, I was a bit too stage frightened to do much else then yell ‘BeardedGents.com!’

This year I’d been thinking about the Nationals as this is the closest to Central Florida they’ve been in their 3 previous years. …and even that’s not so close; New Orleans is a 700 mile journey from me. Plus I have Toby, and I so hate to put him in a kennel. 😦  He’s my buddy and should go with, so that’s another reason I don’t attempt to go to comps.

Image

Several days ago I received an email from Bluebeards Original in Pennsylvania asking me if I was going to the Nationals and if I was, they’d cover the hotel if I’d help the owner and cover his breaks. Well having only thought about going prior, I was quick to get very excited. I called and priced a rental car for the journey, since I don’t own my own vehicle. I actually reserved the car already. I then went on Beard Team USA’s site and ordered a customname plate with their logo on the left side of it and my name, with city and state. lol  I think I was jumping the gun so to speak. I then responded to their email saying I could go and now they’re scrambling to get reservations for me. I think the owners reservations were made prior. They not only need to find a room near the French Quarter, but also one that accepts dogs.

The competitions are a two day event this year and are being held in two different locations; which are close to each other, I hear. The New Orleans Sheraton and the New Orleans House of Blues.The last I heard from Bluebeards, they were trying to get me a room at the Sheraton, which would be fantastic! All I’d have to do is run upstairs to get Toby and let him out 😀 I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

Oddly enough, I’d ordered a heavy duty vinyl banner in hopes that I would someday need it for a competition. That opportunity is now, and I’m hoping this all works out. Would be my first big competition, though I’m not competing. I’m there to sponsor our home, our site and to meet folks. (…and to help rep Bluebeards) I would like to meet the people I’ve had so much cyber contact with over the years. Let folks put not only a ‘face’ to the name, but a lasting impression of me too, hopefully.

TSOBGBanner

The sponsors for this event are Just for Men, Panasonic, Bluebeards Original, House of Blues, gambit, and The Traveler Beer Co.

Image

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life with Beards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

