Best Combs for Beard (and head hair)

There’s a lot of talk about combs and brushes that are best to use on Beards lately. Straight up plastic combs from Wal-Mart, Target, etc. are not good for your head or Beard hair. There’s a couple of reasons for this. First they are molded plastic which can have imperfections. These imperfections, especially when in the teeth, can pull and yank hair out as you comb. The other reason is that over time, the hair itself can cause cuts in the plastic teeth of combs, which in turn catch hair and yank it out as you use it. Now if you are going to use plastic combs, the best on the market today are KENT Combs. They are handcut and finished for smoothness, which means no snags and yanks of the hair. (but they’re still plastic)

I’m not a big fan of brushes and never have been, even when I had a headfull of hair. If you’re going to use brushes, the best type are of course, NOT plastic, but have natural bristles, like Boar’s hair bristles.

Image

In speaking with a friend on the Fan Page about combs and he’d asked me what I use. I said plastic, wide tooth combs. He was like no,no,no! lol He told me you must use wooden combs. We discussed this further and I decided to try one. I purchased this wide tooth Sandlawood comb off of Amazon, and i have to say it’s absolutely wonderful! I rarely have any snags now out of the shower or from being outside. The comb glides right through!  It’s a great comb and I’m sure it will last a lot longer then any plastic comb.

Image

Then I heard and read about combs made from horn or antler and how good they are. For some reason as I’ve read, horn and antler combs are better at distributing the natural oils on our skin and hair. These oils help protect our hair from the elements.  Well being the ever curious one, I had to purchase a wood/horn comb. I have to say it is every bit as nice at the wood comb, and again, little to no snags with this one either! I tend to be rough on my beard, combing it as if it were steel wool, so with the old plastic combs i was yanking out many hairs each time I used it.  Now I can comb to my hearts content and not worry one bit about yanking hairs out before their time. lol

Image

All in all, Beards and their growth is basically genetics, but there are things you can do to improve the health of the hair and skin beneath. The best thing you can do is to take good care of yourself. Healthy body, healthy Beard!  I take vitamins to supplement my diet which is lacking in many areas, so I’m sure I’m getting all I need on a daily basis.  There are ‘Beard Vitamins’ on the market, but don’t be fooled. They claim to be good as multi-vitamins, but are heavy on the B Vitamins and not much else. You’re better off with a good multi-vitamin, which also costs a LOT less too. Keeping your skin and hair healthy is easy if you have the knowledge. Good health, good quality combs/brushes, and good care. Beard Oils can also help manage your Beard of the frizzies and keep it shiney, and smelling good too.

Thank you for your time!

Gary W Norman

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
Aside | This entry was posted in Life with Beards and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Best Combs for Beard (and head hair)

  1. Ben says:

    I just ordered a Kent comb today! Maybe I’ll eventually graduate to a nice wooden comb.
    -Ben

  2. Stasz says:

    Although I don’t use combs of any type, I found good quality brushes that minimize snags for me. As for the the oils, I’m quite particular about which ones feel good and which ones don’t; my face is fussy. Many types have worked fine but smelled too strong, others are light scented but ineffective. Some oils work well but have left a nasty greasy feel, which I hate. After much trial and error, I managed to find a range of products that worked well for my body chemistry. A lot of money and time invested into the process but it has paid off for me.

    The best part was that I figured it out on my own. I didn’t know anyone bearded to consult early on and net searching was not helpful during that period either. Persistence has paid off though; it’s been a battle worth fighting for.

    • Good to hear! Yes, regardless of any reviews and the like, one still needs to experiment with things to see what works and what doesn’t for them. ….and that’s part of the journey, as I call it. Letting one’s Beard grow out and learning about the people around you and how they react to your Beard, the products you use on that Beard, and the care you give it! 😀 Beard On!

    • It is all trial and error for sure..and money spent. I seem to be fine with most oils and have 13 different types on hand at present. The key too is to not overdo them. I use up to 15 drops (or dime sized) and rub my hands together…and then up through my beard to my cheeks..then all over my beard 😀 the scents of any of them don’t seem to last more then 10 minutes to me..maybe my sniffer is broken!

Leave a Reply

