The Evolution of My Beard

Since around the beginning of September, actually appearing shortly after the competition in New Orleans too, my Beard is becoming noticeably more wavy. It also seems to be getting thicker, much thicker. When I started growing this beard out and it got to a few inches, I could tell it was following the curve of my chin, down. and it got longer, it followed by jaw toward my neck, then suddenly curled straight out again. Oh my God, this drove me absolutely batty. 

 

I went on a search for straightening shampoos and conditioners to battle this beast of a curl/wave I had. After many months of using straighteners, combs, and blow drying, I’d all but gotten rid of that wave! Hallelujah! I was so happy, my beard was looking longer without the wave.  Well as my beard grew longer, I stopped needing to use the straighteners because the Beards own weight was pulling the wave out. Thank you Mother Nature! 

 

Now here in early November, I’m not only watching that ‘wave’ come back in full force, but also a perfect line of hair from my mustache towards my ear on the left side of my face is making a curl/wave toward my left ear. It’s a rather long line too. lol omg  hahahaha  On the right side of my face, my Beard is doing something different too, but I can’t tell what yet.  

 

Here after 6 years, I thought all my beard would do now is get longer, but alas, the ever evolving Beard has a mind of it’s own and is taking it’s own path yet again. This time I’m not fighting it though. My Beard is about 14 inches long (measuring from the bottom lip) and I really don’t want to put my Beard through that stress again, of the straightening products, plus all that combing and heat from the blow dryer. Now’s the time to let it do it’s thing, after 6 years, it’s moving into another phase.

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Evolution of My Beard

  1. Stasz says:

    Although mine is only a year and 3 months old, it’s come a long way in a short time. Throughout the various stages of growth, I never attempted straightening or blow drying. It always felt too risky for my hair type. Fairly tight curls so far; though i don’t know the length straightened out, it’s about 5-6 in. with the curls.

    One distinction that has set me apart has been the unintentional “Middle Eastern” look that has come about quite naturally, although there is no trace of the ethnicity in my family line. Friends and family have warned me to watch out for racist people that might harm me for looking this way.

    Although I do get some glares and insults, I’ve never had any trouble. But if anything ever does happen, I can still take heart in the fact I never let fear sway my desire to look the way I want!

    • I’ve definitely been ‘accused’ of being Middle Eastern. Once by a homeless verteran (or so he said) outside of a store just after the hurricanes of 04. He asked for money and I didn’t have any..even showed him my open wallet and he started shouting “Iraqi’ at me and “Iranian” and he made quite a scene… ugh. I also have a friend who’s from Tehran, and I can’t tell you how many times he’s told me I look like the Ayatollah lol

Leave a Reply

