Sticking to my guns…

I keep pushing my theory that Beards mature as they age. I’ve never found any research pertaining to this either, though there may be some out there, somewhere.  Young men hit me up all the time asking what they can do to increase or speed up beard growth, because their Beards are thin or patchy in spots. It’s all basically genetics my friends. I also push the theory that if you take care of yourself, you’ll take care of your Beard. Now there are many things on the market that say they improve growth or increase it, and I’ve taken several of these supplements to find they do nothing.  Many take Biotin as I do, again, but still the only thing I notice Beard-wise is less shedding, if that’s a pro from taking Biotin, I’m not sure though.  I’ve done this comparison in my own personal Beard growth over the years to illustrate what I mean by ‘maturing.’

Image

You can see in the 1984 photo, my Beard doesn’t come up very far on my cheeks. Now I was 22 when this photo was taken and I did shave a cheek line, but as I recall I did that because there were only some scraggly hairs on my lower cheek and they looked lonely. lol

In looking at the 1992 photo, when I was 30, the Beard is further up my cheeks, but still looks thin at the line. The Beard is thicker and darker too by this time. In the 2002 photo, at 40 years old, the most noticeable change is the color. Lots of gray has taken over and the Beard is still mostly, dark and thick.

In the 2013 photo at age 50 (when the photo was taken), the Beard is well up my cheeks and still growing higher! lol The hair now grows all the way up to just under my eyes! You can see the color has almost completely turned gray now too, and it’s much longer. All part of the maturation process of the Beard.

So I theorize that by the time I’m 62 years old, the Beard will be up even further on my cheeks and much longer, I hope!  I threw my razor away in 2007 after a momentary lapse of reason, and regretted it within 10 minutes of doing so.  My Beard had been growing for 2 years and was approximately 10 inches long and I shaved it off.  Shaving off a short beard is not a big deal really, but shaving off a beard that has been growing for two years is a damn shame and most regrettable.  I’ll not be making that mistake ever again. I’m much more resolute now with my Beard and how I treat it. In the past 6 years it has had 3 trims, primarily to even it up in length; the right side ‘seems’ to grow a tad faster then the left. In those 3 trims, I probably lost a total of 5-6 inches of hair, which was at that time, wispy looking. So onward I go in my journey with my Beard, to greater lengths and thicker, I hope!

Never apologize for your Beard! It is what it is, and it’s all your’s and yours alone! Folks who joke and poke fun at you, who may say ‘shave that off until you can grow a real beard’ have no clue what it is to Beard. It is a journey to be sure and Time and Patience will reward you! Be proud of what you have as there are many men who can grow nary a whisker. Enjoy the journey and watching your Beard mature as you age. Relish in your growth!

Thank you for your time!

Beard On!

Gary W Norman

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life with Beards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sticking to my guns…

  1. Tim Humble says:

    Well said Gary.

  2. Adam Hughes says:

    Reblogged this on Adam's Symposium..

  3. lance says:

    Great inspiration for those of us that can’t grow the perfect beard but continue to try. Thank you.

    • You’re most welcome Lance. Very few folks can grow a mean Mountain Man Beard right off the mark. For the majority of us, The Beard has to mature, which takes years. I always say no need to make excuses for your Beard. When it’s ready, you’ll be most handsomely rewarded, I’m sure! 😀

Leave a Reply

