The Goals of The Society of Bearded Gentlemen

Image

 

When I started The Society on February 15th, 2009, my main goal was to keep a bunch of us guys, from a site that was closing, together. Since that date, my goal has been to encourage and inspire men to grow. To help men realize that you can’t just grow a massive Beard overnight; that it takes much time and even more patience!  …and that The Itch is a ‘Rite of Passage’ and does pass, if one can handle it for the short amount of time it will be around. This ‘itch’ is what causes many men to ‘give up the ghost’ and sha*e their Beards off. 

I’ve expanded The Society’s reach from the home site, to WordPress, to Facebook, YouTube, Pinterest, Twitter, and Instagram. There’s more then one way to ‘spread the word’ eh?!  I do get messages on my site and on Facebook often from guys saying they’d never attempted to ‘grow long’ and had finally made the decision to do so or from guys thanking me for the inspiration they needed to let their Beards grow.  There aren’t many things in Life that are free and growing out your Beard is one of them; to help men be themselves, be comfortable in their Beard. Throughout the many Beards I’ve worn in my past, I always had to deal with inane comments about my Beard and I”m sure many men World wide have too. I think many of us in the Bearding Community wish for a World like that of the mid 1800’s, when Men were allowed to be men, without apologies.

I thought this would be a good chance to share some comments from both the home base of The Society (http://beardedgents.com) and the Fan Page on Facebook. I hope you enjoy and perhaps find some inspiration yourselves!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

