Glasses

 

 

So I finally had my eye exam, got my prescription, and finally got my glasses, one week later. My friend took me to the store to get them, and afterward decided she wanted to pick up a few things.  I was amazed at the colors, and the depth with which I could now see! I knew my vision wasn’t the best, but wow, it must have sucked. lol  The diagnosis was 20/70 vision in my right eye, and 20/50 in my left eye. (I already knew from my own testing, the right was worse)

These are bifocals so I’m adjusting to using them as such; top to see distance, bottom to see close. It seems as though the distance I sit from my laptop falls between the two lenses. I almost feel I can see it better without the glasses, but if I sit closer, it looks much clearer with glasses, then without at my ‘usual’ distance. I’m happy I finally did this. Folks who know me, know I don’t do doctors much, preferring to self diagnose and treat; something my folks did more and more as I got older. When I was a young’un, my mom ran me to the doctor or hospital in the blink of an eye, whereas my dad was the ‘put neosporin and a bandaid on it and it will be fine’ type of guy. This has good and bad points. Good in that it saves me money and makes me feel like I CAN take care of myself. Bad in that at times I’m VERY wrong and risk danger, like with appendicitis a few years ago. I figured it was cramps or muscle spasms,but after 4 days of enduring extreme pain, I went to the ER. I’m glad I finally went as the doctor said if I’d waited one more day, my appendix would have burst; I was rushed in for emergency surgery and got that taken care of. Not fun let me tell ya, but one of the risks I run by self diagnosing, and I’m good with that.

I did suffer a heart attack in 2011 or 2012 that was ‘induced’ and I did not call for an ambulance, but dealt with the extreme pain, profuse sweating, and serious difficulty breathing, but I survived it. After it was said and done, I explained what happened to my head doctor in Melbourne (FL) and she said it sounded like all the signs of a heart attack and wrote me an order to get an EKG, which I never did go to get done. 

Well this is about glasses though and the fact that I can now see better then ever. It’s like I have super eyes now. lol My distance vision is amazing. 😀 Superman ain’t got nothin on me! LOL I will continue on trying to get used to this new version of ‘vision’ for me and these strange things they call ‘bifocals.’ 

Image

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

