Damn The Beard, Shave, Shave, Shave!

I’m sure many of you have already seen the New Gillette Body Razor for Men.  I can only assume that their slumping sales and profits have them scrambling to get Men to shave, anything. Chest, back, legs, groin, head, anything! This is as best I can tell, a remarketed Ladie’s Venus Razor, with manly colors and look of course. I’m quite hairy, and quite proud of it too. This is way I am, this is happiness with my body as it is. 

There is also a ridiculous and rather medieval looking electric extendable razor so men can shave their own backs. Frightening.  I had a good friend who was about The Hairiest Man I’ve ever known and he absolutely hated it. He tried everything short of laser removal; he shaved, had friends shave his back, used Nair, and was waxed. He’d do anything to rid himself of his body hair and I did my best to help him see the beauty in it and to be happy with it, but it was to no avail.

I can’t wait to see what they come up with next to try to get us to shave something. It is pathetic that an industry has arisen out of making us unhappy with our bodies as they are.  As an Beard Advocate, I also cannot support women’s shaving. Body Hair is as natural as rain, and serves a purpose.  Some think the body hair helps hold onto natural phermones, helps protect us from the Sun’s rays, and other things. Whatever the intent, it’s there and we should embrace our bodies as they are, hair and all.

Image

 

Image

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Damn The Beard, Shave, Shave, Shave!

  1. Sean Hoade says:

    In times like these, I like to paraphrase Winston Churchill: ““Never give in–never, never, never, never shave that beard great or small.”

  2. I’m sure many of you have already seen the New Gillette Body Razor for Men. I can only assume that their slumping sales and profits have them … fmeno.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

