The 5th Annual Southeastern Beard & Moustache Championships 05/24/14

Image

 

This event is coming up quickly and I am registered to compete in this event in the ‘Salty Dog’ category!  I’m very excited about this comp as they are always fun to attend, and meeting folks old and new is very cool.  This is an event put on by Holy City BAM out of Charleston, SC.  Paul Roof had invited me when we were both in Miami at the end of December for B.O.M.B.’s competition at Tobacco Road. I said I’d be there, then had to scramble to make sure I could get there! lol 

As with the Miami comp, I’ll be doing the same thing this event too; driving up (6 hrs), hanging out/competing, then driving home (6 hrs), so this will make for a very long day!  I am fortunate that one of my site’s members, Aldon Olson, has invited myself and my ride to use his hotel room to freshen up before the competition, and I’m sure we will need to after a  6 hour drive. This will also be my first meeting Aldon (Mighty Beard) too. This trip I’ll be meeting several members of the site and I’m very excited about it. Aldon also made the suggestion we take a group photo of all the members that are at this event. Thank God for Aldon as things either slip my mind or never appear there in the first place! I’d have thought of a group pic as I was driving home. lol 

This will be the 5th Beard competition I’ve been involved with and I do have so much fun at them.  You really couldn’t hand pick a better group of folks to be around.  They say Beardies are nicer people then shorn men, and it’s true.  It will be a pleasure to see Paul Roof, Josh Black, and hopefully I’ll see Bill Holbrook there too as far as Beards I’ve already met. On the new folks side is Aldon, DC, Kevin, and many more I hope! 

If you’ve never been to a Beard competition, please DO attend one sometime!  You don’t even have to be IN the competition to have fun at them. 

Image

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

