‘Merica – a Beard Comp for Orlando!

Competition Poster

Competition Poster

I’d been looking forward to this event in Orlando at Johnny’s Fillin Station on Saturday, July 5th, 2014. It was held by Atom Tobias and the Orlando Facial Hair Club. The event started around 10 am with a Hot Rod show, but I didn’t get there until around 2 pm after my buddy Harley Stringer had driven over to Titusville to scoop me up! (Harley runs Beards for Autism ) As with all the Beard comps I’ve been to, I run into folks I’ve met online originally and then at these events. Always a pleasure seeing Brian Damaged and Damien Ryan Brett Stein, Harley Stringer, Peter Rosati, and meeting new folks too! Like Seamus who’s a member of my site, Atom Tobias,  Ryan Janocko, and Chris Ward.

This was I think for most intents & purposes, their first ‘big’ comp and it was a dosey! They had a Hot Rod Show, a Pin-Up Contest, 3 or 4 live bands, and a Beard Competition! Quite a line-up for the day. It was bustling and alive with friendly folks and music and as always, everyone was cool! The drinks were flowing as well and even Mother Nature opened up on us a bit, with a heavy rain and thunderstorm, but she couldn’t dampen the mood or spirit of the day!

They had 4 categories for the Beard Competition; Full Beard, Freestyle, Partial Beard, and Mustache. I was in the Full Beard category, but didn’t win, again! lol You know I have so much fun socializing, winning the comp is about the last thing on my mind. It’s the fun, the camaraderie, and being around the coolest folks you can imagine. The Awards were very cool and were hand made by Ryan Janocko.

Peter Rosati won the Full Beard,  Seamus won the Mustache category (you can check out the award made by Ryan J!) Damien Ryan Brett Stein won the Partial Beard Category, and Bill Roberts won the Freestyle category.

I of course got my party on and happily drank myself into a mild stupor, but the ales and ciders I was drinking were SO good, omg! lol I don’t drink much, maybe once or twice a year, and never at home either. I was a mess by the time I got home, but no hangovers for me; thankfully!

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life with Beards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

