Burgers, Beers, and Beards! The Orlando Facial Hair Club

Orlando Facial Hair Club

OFHC's get together and hang out

OFHC’s get together and hang out

This is the second event by The Orlando Facial Hair Club that I’ve attended and what a good time it was! As the first, the competition they held at Johnny’s Filling Station, this was well attended and fun. I live so close to Orlando and really had only one excuse not to be there ($$), but I had to go! Atom Tobias is a cool guy and runs the group in O-Town. I got to meet many new folks and re-meet a few from the competition I attended. It’s been said that bearded men are nicer and friendlier then shorn men, and this is yet another group that proves that adage to be true. I got to meet Mike, Bill, Yogi, Doug, Kevin, Scott (and others too, forgive me, my short term isn’t so good) and lo and behold ran into Damien from B.O.M.B. Miami there too! What a cool surprise!

The event ‘Burgers, Beers, and Beards’ was held at the Oblivion Taproom on East Colonial and the owner, Pete Wesenberg was very friendly and nice and has a great staff there, AND a sweet collection of Beers and Ciders! (and he played photographer for us a few times!) I got there early as I am never sure how long it will take me to get to Orlando from Titusville. It’s only 33 miles or so, but sometimes traffic and weather can slow things down incredibly so.

Orlando, FL  East Colonial Drive, just west of 436

Orlando, FL
East Colonial Drive, just west of 436

I’d gotten a beer and was the very first one there it seems, so I had to go outside to smoke my pipe and drink my beer (that was incidentally as dark as Darth Vader’s soul) I’m not a ‘drinker’ per se, and never think, but once someone said Ciders were their specialty, I was on it! Folks started arriving and I got to shmoozin with the beardies! Again, I can’t say it enough about this group; they are incredibly friendly, fun to be with, and good to converse with. Conversations ranged from Beard Competitions, to Comp Rules, and other non-beard related topics. I can’t imagine anyone feeling out of place with these guys and ladies! I’m so happy I attended, I’m looking forward to the next get together!

Orlando, FL

Orlando, FL

Atom, Jessica, and Yogi, plus others hangin out!

Atom, Jessica, and Yogi, plus others hangin out!

They handed out tickets to everyone there, and I guess they were ‘door prizes’ per se. They had posters, stickers, and glasses to hand out, and amazingly, I won one! Got me a cool glass from Funky Buddha Brewing in Florida (and my nickname is Buddha Bear, so that was way cool)

gathered up for a group pic! Taken by Jessica Tobias as I recall :D

gathered up for a group pic! Taken by Jessica Tobias as I recall 😀

If you’re on Facebook, do checkout the OFHC at >> https://www.facebook.com/orlandofacialhairclub?fref=ts and if you’re in the area, checkout the Oblivion Taproom! On Facebook, they can be found at >> https://www.facebook.com/obliviontaproom?fref=ts. Pete has a great, knowledgeable, and friendly staff!

If you’re going to be in Orlando anytime, DO stop by and check out the OFHC’s Facebook page to see if something might be going on while you’re in town! Well worth the time spent with these folks and you’ll make new friends, I guarantee it!

Pic time at the Oblivion Taproom!

Pic time at the Oblivion Taproom!

at the Oblivion Taproom in Orlando, FL on East Colonial. Photo credit goes to Pete W, owner of the Oblivion!

at the Oblivion Taproom in Orlando, FL on East Colonial. Photo credit goes to Pete W, owner of the Oblivion!

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life with Beards. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burgers, Beers, and Beards! The Orlando Facial Hair Club

  1. Hunter says:

    It was hard to find your site in google. You should create some high PR contextual backlinks in order to rank your website.

    I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the best type of backlinks.

    I know very useful tool that will help you to create unique, readable content in minute,
    just search in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

Leave a Reply

