Finally Re-Thought!

After all the Beard Oriented products I’ve used over the years, that have all had the impact of a cotton ball on water, I’ve found something that is having an effect on my Beard! It’s only too bad I can’t specifically point to the one thing. I’ve been taking a multi-vitamin for a year or two now, so that’s not it as the results have only recently started being noticed.  I’ve been taking HIGH doses of biotin for years now, so that’s definitely NOT the cause. In April I started walking daily and began making adjustments in my diet where it needed work on, serious work. In mid July I joined a gym and have gotten into it so much, I’ve started using supplements. In the past few months I’ve started taking Creatine (which I’m sure has no bearing on Beard/Hair growth), BCAA’s (branched chain amino acids) and I doubt they’re the cause. The one thing I do take, that I think is having the effect it’s having is Whey Protein. I’m finally getting the proper amount of protein in my diet and I believe this is what is causing my Beard ‘improvement.’

Lately when I shower and wash The Beard, I’ve noticed it has seemed a LOT thicker then usual.  Since I’m in Florida and not an animal, I don’t believe it’s my fur getting thicker for Winter.  It’s definitely thicker; I can feel it, and a buddy at the gym just yesterday noted ‘your Beard is getting a lot thicker!’  So good, it’s not just me thinking that; it IS getting much thicker. Though I can’t specifically point out what is causing this, I am thinking it’s the Whey Protein. We know protein is essential for many things in the body and hair is one of them. I do note there is NO change in the hair on my head though. lol What’s left of it that is!

So here goes to much more Whey Protein in my future, a thicker Beard, and more muscley muscles! 😀

Gary

December 18th, 2014*

Thinking about this over and over, I finally remembered I’d been taking a Testosterone Booster over this time period too. I am over 50 so figured it would be helpful with the weight lifting. I think now that the Beard growth is probably related more to this then to the protein, though I’m sure that’s not hurting.

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life with Beards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Finally Re-Thought!

  1. hirsuteforhappiness says:

    Hey Gary, I have a theory that ties in with this. Are you aware that it’s your muscles that given your metabolism and given your training your metabolic activities are higher. Pair that with an improved dietary intake then you have foundations for a better body, hair included. Also the very act of weight training stimulates more growth hormone and elevated testosterone levels which of course have an impact on the body getting bigger better and healthier.

    • I totally agree with you on this too. I neglected to include it as I felt I had to get this out quick! lol I’m sure the combination of (better) diet, regular/consistent exercise (with increased blood flow), and (I still think) the Whey Protein are probably all contributing to the noticeable increase in Beard size. Though again, the diet change and exercise started in April, the gym workouts in mid July, and the starting of supplements in the past few months, which coincide with the increase in Beard volume. 😀 Thanks for taking the time to read this AND to comment too! Much appreciated my friend :-3)}}}

    • One thing I forgot to mention, was that I’ve done a few protein counters thingys that suggest how much protein an individual should take in daily. Both I took were very close in grams of protein per day, and my intake of protein was about 1/8th of that! lol so now I’m getting more near what I should have for my size. 🙂

  2. I’ve been gymmin it for years but a couple years ago I added protein supplements of both whey and plant proteins. I’ve also been taking creative after workouts for a couple years. I’ve always had a very full beard but noticed the difference when I recently added the biotin. I think it’s all a combination. The added excercise definitely helps as it does stimulate the hormones and the blood flow. 20 grams of protein was way too little thus that added to the exercise and the biotin I think has got you growin.

  3. The supplements are really worth.

Leave a Reply

