The Beard & The Bod – A Tale of Props and Inspiration

Today is/was like any other day for me; I wake up, drink my coffee, let the dog out, feed him, and walk to the gym.  Today though, on the way home, I had to stop by CVS (pharmacy), and Publix to pick up a few things. The CVS visit went off without a hitch, got my prescription and left.

The Publix (grocery store) visit is always fun, because I usually have a list I’ve forgotten to bring, and then buy stuff that was not on my list. Publix is in a new location and much bigger too, so shopping takes a bit longer (to find everything I need).  As I’m meandering about thinking and looking at the signs in the aisles, I note an older woman (perfect grandmother figure) rolls by on her powered shopping cart, and says as she passes, ‘that’s a beautiful beard you have sir!’ I quickly turned and said thank you, got a huge smile on my face, and carried on with my task.

I manage to get all the things on my list plus one extra goodie, and make my way to the register to check out. I know most of the employees and managers at the store, so I get in short conversations with them while they ring me up.  I gathered myself, got my bag in the cart and started walking toward the exit door.

As I’m making my way to leave the store, a woman pushes her shopping cart directly in front of me and blocks me from moving. She takes off her glasses, and with a big smile on her face says, ‘I’ve watched you walk down Barna (Ave) this past year, and watched you get thinner and thinner! How much weight have you lost?’ I got a really big smile on my face and said well at the most I’ve lost 46 pounds, but have put on a few probably due to the weightlifting. She said ‘well you look great, keep up the good work, and I’ll honk next time I see you!’ with a smile.

This turned out to be a banner day amidst the local pubic here in Titusville, and got some big smiles on, and inspiration to carry on!

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life with Beards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Beard & The Bod – A Tale of Props and Inspiration

  1. Congrats Gary. Keep it up. A healthy body is a gift.

Leave a Reply

