When I’m your age…

I walk a lot (min. 25 miles per week), and workout generally 6 days a week. Now when I walk, i try to maintain 3.6 mph or faster if I can muster the energy, so I can get my heartrate up for a sustained period of time.  On occasion I get comments from other folks walking along my route. I passed this  younger man one day, and I said hello as I passed him. He said ‘hello’ and ‘you must be German, you walk so fast!’  Interesting comment as I didn’t know Germans were noted for fast walking,  but I chuckled and kept on walking.

Yesterday as I was leaving the gym, I was still just on my way and I could see this man walking very slowly along the sidewalk, so to get ahead of him, I kept walking and cut through the parking lot of Advanced Discount Auto Parts.  As i came out of the parking lot ahead of this man, he says loudly, ‘you better slow down, you’ll get a speeding ticket!’ I again laughed and kept on walking. As I continued on, I looked back occasionally to see just how fast I was walking, and that man was way in the distance. 🙂

I had to stop at the grocery store and pick up a few things. The store sets 3/10ths of a mile off of my route and I got to the store, got my goodies, and left. As I was nearing the road to get back on my route, that same man was just coming along the sidewalk and he says ‘I caught up with you!’ I said well I had to go to the store to pick up some things. He responds with ‘oh, well I hope I’m as energetic and spry when I’m your age!’   I laughed and turned around to tell the guy I was ‘only’ 52 and he says ‘wow, I’m 50!’ I’d stopped to chat and told him I walked 25 miles a week and worked out 5-6 days a week. He says ‘Oh I do too. I have a gym at home, about $6K worth of equipment.’ I told him I’d probably never use it if I owned it and he laughed, then tells me he’d had a stroke, and raised his ‘useless right arm to show me it just hung there. As I continued walking, I said well it’s a good thing you’re still with us and out and about!

The gentleman wished me a good day and then added he meant it! Oh when I’m your age…

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life & Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When I’m your age…

Leave a Reply

