Hacked Off and Just Plain Hacked!

Sunday August 16th was a typical day to start off and by the afternoon it had gone haywire. I was doing my thing on the computer with The Society’s Fan Page on Facebook, posting on BeardedGents.com, Twitter, etc. I got this odd message on the Fan Page from a John/Joe Brown, whose icon was Facebook Security. The message said my page was sending out SPAM and I needed to prove the page was mine. Everything was quite official looking, and I’d recently changed another page I ran from Bearded Gents (personal profile) to The Society of Bearded Gentlemen II per Facebooks instructions, so I clicked the link. In that one split second, ownership of the Fan Page on Facebook (with over 35K Likes) was transferred from me to an undisclosed entity, who almost immediately started posting sexually oriented ads/links all to the same site.

I’d gotten two emails from Facebook about hacking attempts on the page. One attempt was from Virginia, USA, and the other attempt was made from Croatia! I’m no hacker so have no clue what was going on, but I do know in a bat of an eye, I lost the page. 😦

Suddenly on a page I’d run for years and worked very hard to build up to it’s present position, was posting ads like ‘Awkward Boners’, ‘Big Assed Women’, and ‘Perfect Body’ links, all sexual in orientation with pg-13 rated pics. I and many of my friends started reporting the page as being hacked and overnight Facebook had removed the previous days posts by the other entity, but they’d posted new ones. I’ve been on the edge of sanity as fans of the page were saying they were unliking the page because of the ‘crap’ I was posting, even though I was commenting on ALL of these posts, that the page had been hacked, and I had NO control of the page whatsoever!

By that afternoon, Monday, Facebook had removed all of the posts, and the last post I made was the last post on the page, about Joe Palmer, Beard Hero. Now today, Tuesday, every time I try to go to that page to view it, i’m redirected back to my own news feed. I am hoping that Facebook is on this and finding the culprit, and hopefully returning control of the Fan Page to me. I’d read something in their maze of links on the Help Center Resources that stated if a page was hacked, they’d figure out who did the hacking, delete them, and return the page to the owner. I’m praying this is what’s going on since the page is not visible at this point on Facebook, at least not to US citizens. Europe and UK fans can see the page though; odd.

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life & Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

