Adoption; The Process of Getting Information

As I’d previously mentioned, I was adopted in August of 1962. I’d tried a few times over the years to find the records of my birth and all to no avail as of now. I was recently linked up with GARR (Georgia Adoption Reunion Registry) and successfully registered with them.  I had filled out the required paperwork and had it notarized, but didn’t realize that that only registered me, and nothing else.

A wonderful woman from GARR called me when she got my paperwork and we spoke for an hour or so on the phone.  She explained a lot to me about forms, things they can do, etc., and she sent me a big packet of forms and information. I had two more forms filled out and notarized and promptly mailed them off. I’ve requested ‘non-identifying’ information, which will possibly contain physical descriptions of my biological parents, their backgrounds, medical history, reason they put me up for adoption, among other things.  My main drive in doing this is my ‘foster’ Mom who always encouraged me to search, but what’s most important to me is knowing my heritage. I’m hoping this information will include this knowledge, but if it doesn’t, then I’ll be going the DNA route, when I have the extra funds.

The new forms were only mailed off a few days ago, and GARR says it can take 2 to 4 weeks to get anything back from them, and longer if they have to order a copy of my original Birth Certificate. Now the wait gives me time to think and ponder, who are these people, what reasons did they have to let me go, etc.

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life & Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

