Goin to Town~

I was recalling this event from my youth, and laughing to myself and thought it would be kind of neat to share it with y’all.  To set the scene, I was about 5, or 6 perhaps (c. 1968), living in Augusta, Georgia.  My parents and I played games together often. We played various card games (Go Fish, Rummy, etc), and board games a lot, and Monopoly was one of them. (I think the latter was my folks favorite game actually).

This one particular evening, we were playing Monopoly and I asked something about the play money. It must have been whether or not the money could be used in stores, because my dad said yes, but just one store downtown took it.  I also think he said he’d take me to it in a few days.  I was never noted for my patience in Life, now and not then either!

Having that store in my thoughts as I went to bed, it seems I woke up especially early (it was still kind of dark out as I recall), got myself dressed and headed to the corner to catch the bus into the city.  When the bus arrived and I got on the bus, one of the women riding the bus asked me where I was going. (All of the passengers were maids in the neighborhood) I told her, and she said something along the lines that I should wait and go with my father, and she successfully convinced me to stay.  She gathered me up, took me off of the bus, and to the neighbor’s house which stood on that corner; it was the Bernard family. Mrs. Bernard was awake and brought me inside into the kitchen,  sat me down to a bowl of cereal and a glass of milk, while she proceeded to call my folks across the street.

Needless to say my folks were completely flabbergasted, and my Mother was particularly rattled. I think though my Dad was angry with me, he still thought it was kind of funny that I tried to go myself.

So much for my independent shopping adventure!

AugustaGA1960s-2

In our backyard on Boy Scout Rd. in Augusta, GA. As I recall, we had 56 pine trees in our backyard, all planted in rows. 

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life & Education, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goin to Town~

  1. Oh my, I bet your mom was freaked. I know mine was when I did similar things. Us beardos, minds of our own.

Leave a Reply

