Losing is Progress

With inspiration from a good friend of mine, I decided it was fine time to start taking better care of myself. This was in the beginning of 2014 and I weighed in at 246# at that time.  I started on April 1st, 2014 by making changes in my diet (the way I eat, not the bastardized version of the word) and started my walking regimen again. I started walking 2 miles per day, then increased that to 3 miles per day.  I eventually got myself up to about 7 miles per day in July of 2014 and had gotten down to 229# simply from exercise and diet change.

Since my auto accident/head injury in November of 1991, I’ve had major issues with my weight. I always weighed around 176# prior to the accident, but afterwards my weight shot up to 260#!! Obviously that was from sitting around recuperating and eating as I had prior to the accident.  Prior to the accident, I was working 17 hour days plus a 3 hour commute. After the accident, I was not working, but still eating the same way and ballooned up to massive size.

After talking with my friend,  who’d joined an Anytime Fitness in Wisconsin, I found we had one in town too as I walked by it one day. I decided that perhaps adding weight lifting to my routine would help me not only achieve my goals, but help me maintain them this time. I joined Anytime Fitness Titusville on July 14th, 2014.  I’ve worked hard at this and am successfully maintaining my eating habits, and workout 5-6 days per week, plus walk 4.2 miles per day. The most I’ve walked in one day was 17 miles and I can honestly say that I won’t be doing that again anytime soon. I did walk 10 miles yesterday (04/09/16) and though I managed quite well, I still hurt from that adventure.

As of this morning, April 10th, 2015, I am down to 194.6# and couldn’t be more happy about this loss. My initial* goal is to get down to about 186# and when I get to that point, I’ll reassess my goals and habits and make appropriate changes if I need to do so. I check-in every time I go to the gym, and often post my workouts on Facebook and elsewhere. Some friends blast me for posting such stuff, but I post this not for them, but for me.  If I keep posting my workouts, I’m going to continue them as I will not be seen as a ‘quitter’, but rather as a determined and consistent individual.

Other than my back, legs, and right hip (a result of my 10 mile walk yesterday), I’m feeling better than ever and am determined to continue.  I really enjoy weight lifting, the gym is cool, and most of the other members are friendly and inspiring to me. It keeps me coming back for more!

IMAG0371-09-26-12

The above photo is from 2012, at close to 250#.

April-09-2016

The above photo is from April 9th, 2016 @ 194.6#

 

About Gary W Norman

54 yr old Beardsman, Pipe smoker, Network Creator/Webmaster, College Grad, Dog Lover, Coffee & Tea Fiend, Romantic, Photographer/Artist, Music lover, Nature lover, budding superstar and Coffee Shop Philosopher, OCD, bipolar.
This entry was posted in Life & Education, Weight Lifting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Losing is Progress

  1. Excellent work Gary. It takes dedication and patience, keep it up!💪👍😉

  2. that it does my friend! lol work and work, and more work, but I’m diggin it and having fun, and making friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

